JJ Cut off shove?

Home Forums Share Your Hand Tournaments JJ Cut off shove?

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Colin Pike
    Participant

playing first live tournament ever. The table is legit insane, people are jamming like K/8 type hands. Rebuy period has just ended,

SB-500
    BB- 1000

UTG raises to 3000 ( this player is player a LARGE portion of hands, and raising at will, called an all in with 8/9 suited earlier)
    2 others call

I look down at J/J, sitting on about a 30BB stack( small stack at the table). I jam

UTG calls, others fold

He flips A/A

Almost sure I over played the jacks, but given the nonsense of the table, it felt ok. Am I trying to take advantage of the table here a little too much, or is that gonna be a positive EV play at that table??

Chuck M
    Participant

Im not a tournament pro, but imho, I think 30bb is a bit deep to get it in pf.
    I think we can either go with a preflop call, and play post flop, or 3bet to somewhere around 7.5-9k and decide if we want to call a 4bet or fold.

Maybe 3bet/fold JJ would be a bit of a disaster, so i guess I would lean towards a call (if villain is as loose as you say, you’ll be quite ahead of his range)

Congrats on your first live tournament 🙂 gg

DeeKay
    Participant

Chuck makes a good point, but I think you have to give a little more credit for an UTG raise. I get where you are coming from, but given that you are sitting at 30K. I like a call for two reasons. We are assuming you are facing a weaker hand, but we don’t know. If he has two overs, he’s going to call and now you’re racing for your life. Personally I don’t like to race for tournament life. If I get it in really good and lose, so be it. The 2nd reason is that you still have a ton of equity and showdown value in this hand, by shoving, you may have given up all that value.